Biography

Helmuth Plessner was a child of the German Empire. He was born in 1892 in Wiesbaden, the son of a physician. From 1912 onwards he studied zoology and philosophy in Heidelberg, Berlin, and Göttingen. Plessner undertook the balancing act of trying to study the ‘physiology of starfish’ by day and writing his first philosophical work on the metaphysics of the ‘scientific idea’ by night. In his development as a philosopher, Plessner drew mainly on the philosopher and biologist Hans Driesch, Neo-Kantian philosophers like Windelband, Lask, and Max Weber, and on phenomenologist Edmund Husserl. Experiences with revolutionary politics in postwar Bavaria and the examination of the modern visual arts (Kandinsky) also shaped his thinking. After his habilitation in 1920, Plessner became associate professor for philosophy at the newly founded Cologne University. Besides through his writings, Plessner made his mark with a remarkable journal, called the Philosophischer Anzeiger (published from 1925 through 1930), which championed the ‘cooperation of philosophy and the scientific disciplines’. The contacts he made through this journal led him to become part of the epicenter of German philosophy. Within the productive polygon between Max Scheler, Nicolai Hartmann, Martin Heidegger, and Georg Misch, Plessner successfully achieved his own breakthrough to philosophical anthropology, which also entailed some personal offenses and disappointments. During the final years of the Weimar Republic, he had a great variety of interests, including, for example, the Bauhaus, Karl Mannheim’s sociology of knowledge, and the political theory of Carl Schmitt.

Dismissed from his office due to his father’s Jewish descent, Plessner, after making a detour via Turkey, found asylum in the Netherlands thanks to his friend the animal psychologist F.J.J. Buytendijk. Under difficult circumstances, Plessner taught sociology in Groningen from 1936 onwards, but after 1940 he was again in danger because of the German invasion of Holland. Plessner survived by going underground with the help of Dutch friends and students. When the war ended Plessner was able to resume his work. In 1946 the University of Groningen awarded him the chair of philosophy. Through the work of Buytendijk, Plessner’s philosophical anthropology had an indirect influence on Maurice Merleau-Ponty’s phenomenology.

In 1951, after having spent 17 years in exile, and now 60 years of age, Plessner returned to Germany to accept the newly founded chair of sociology in Göttingen. In the same year he married Monika Tintelnot, who adopted Plessner’s last name. Plessner, who brought home some worldliness to the still isolated Germany, took part in many activities. He contributed to the institutional setup of the sociology department in Göttingen, taught philosophy, and at the request of Adorno and Horkheimer participated as a managing member of staff at the Frankfurt Institute for Social Research. In Göttingen he promoted the development of the sociology of sports and he initiated comprehensive empirical research into higher education and in community sociology. During his presidencies of both the German Society of Sociology and that of Philosophy, Plessner had to enable compromises between and in some cases inevitably separate from one another returned emigrants and those who had stayed in Germany during the Third Reich. He had to perform the same balancing act with regard to substantially divergent philosophical schools.

Plessner was not only a great inspiration for the sociology of his time; in a positive exchange with biologists like Adolf Portmann, he also introduced philosophical anthropology as an academic discipline. At the same time he had numerous intellectual clashes with his antipode but fellow-philosophical anthropologist Arnold Gehlen. These debates made philosophical anthropology increasingly attractive for members of the younger generation like Jürgen Habermas and Odo Marquard. In addition, Plessner was in a constant debate with existentialism and critical theory. For all these reasons Plessner was, beyond his circle of followers, a leading character of the awakening mind of the German Republic. After his retirement, Plessner was the first holder of the Theodor-Heuss-Professorship at the New School for Social Research in New York. This professorship had been established in return for the institute’s support for German academic exiles during the Third Reich. This led to prolific contacts to phenomenological and interpretative sociology in the tradition of Alfred Schütz (Peter L. Berger, Thomas Luckmann).

Around 1965, when Plessner was spending his retirement in Switzerland, he was surprisingly offered another teaching assignment, this time by Zürich University, and henceforth held lectures on philosophy for the next couple of years where he amazed the younger generation with his openness towards anything new. But he also further developed his own thoughts and ideas of the 1920s and kept publishing until 1975. His colleagues appreciated Plessner for his agile curiosity and his personal and noetic charm. At the end of his life Plessner suffered long illness, but he lived to see the publication of his collected works by Suhrkamp Verlag just before he died in Göttingen in 1985.

Comments are closed

Biographie

Helmuth Plessner war ein Kind des Kaiserreiches. 1892 als Arztsohn in Wiesbaden geboren, studierte er seit 1911 parallel Zoologie und Philosophie in Heidelberg, Berlin und Göttingen. Er versuchte sich in dem Spagat, tagsüber die ‘Physiologie der Seesterne’ zu erforschen, nachts mit einer Metaphysik der ‘wissenschaftlichen Idee’ seinen philosophischen Erstling zu verfassen. Der Philosoph und Biologe Hans Driesch, Neukantianer wie Windelband, Lask und Max Weber sowie der Phänomenologe Edmund Husserl waren persönliche Bezugsfiguren seiner philosophischen Lernprozesse. Revolutionspolitische Erfahrungen im Nachkriegsbayern und die Auseinandersetzung mit der modernen bildenden Kunst (Kandinsky) kamen hinzu. Nach seiner Habilitation 1920 verfolgte er konsequent seine Laufbahn als Privatdozent für Philosophie an der neu gegründeten Kölner Universität. Neben seinen Schriften trat er mit einer aufsehenerregenden Zeitschrift für die ´Zusammenarbeit der Philosophie mit den Einzelwissenschaften´ hervor (‘Philosophischer Anzeiger’ 1925-1930), über deren Kontakte er in das Epizentrum der damaligen deutschen Philosophie rückte. Im produktiven Polygon zwischen Max Scheler, Nicolai Hartmann, Martin Heidegger und dem Hermeneutiker Georg Misch gelang Plessner der eigene originäre Durchbruch zur philosophischen Anthropologie, der zugleich mit persönlichen Verletzungen und Enttäuschungen verbunden war. Die letzten Jahre der Weimarer Republik sahen Plessner in vielfältigsten Bestrebungen und Kontakten, u.a. zum Bauhaus, zur Wissenssoziologie Karl Mannheims und zur politischen Theorie Carl Schmitts.

Wegen jüdischer Abstammung seines getauften Vaters 1933 aus dem Amt entlassen, fand Plessner nach einem Umweg über die Türkei durch den befreundeten Tierpsychologen F.J.J. Buytendijk in den Niederlanden Asyl. Unter schwierigen Bedingungen lehrte Plessner seit 1936 in Groningen als Soziologe, ab 1940 noch einmal existentiell gefährdet durch die deutsche Besetzung. Durch Vermittlung von niederländischen Freunden und Schülern im Untergrund überlebend, erhielt Plessner 1946 das Ordinariat für Philosophie in Groningen. Eine indirekte Wirkung, vermittelt über Buytendijk, übte Plessners philosophische Anthropologie auf die französische Anthropologie von Maurice Merleau-Ponty aus.

Nach 17 Jahren kehrte der 60jährige 1951 nach Deutschland zurück, um den neugegründeten Lehrstuhl für Soziologie in Göttingen anzunehmen. Im gleichen Jahr heiratete er seine Frau Monika. Plessner, der ein Stück Weltoffenheit in das noch abgekapselte Deutschland mitbrachte, ließ sich vielfältig einbinden. Er betrieb den institutionellen Aufbau der Soziologie in Göttingen, lehrte gleichzeitig Philosophie, war auf Bitten von Horkheimer und Adorno eine Weile als führender Mitarbeiter am Institut für Sozialforschung in Frankfurt beteiligt und setzte in Göttingen neben Impulsen zur Sportsoziologie umfangreiche empirische Untersuchungen zur Hochschule, zur Gemeinde- und Bildungssoziologie in Gang. Mit seinen Präsidentschaften in den Gesellschaften für Soziologie und für Philosophie war Plessner gefordert, zwischen rückgekehrten Emigranten und Dagebliebenen sowie zwischen inhaltlichen Lagern Einbindungen und unvermeidliche Abgrenzungen zu leisten.

Als Anreger der modernen Soziologie, mit dem Einbringen der philosophischen Anthropologie im Austausch mit Biologen wie Adolf Portmann und ständiger Reibung mit seinem Antipoden Arnold Gehlen, die dadurch auch für die jüngere Generation wie Jürgen Habermas oder Odo Marquard attraktiv wurde, in den ideenpolitischen Auseinandersetzungen mit der Existenzphilosophie und Kritischen Theorie war Plessner, über seinen Schülerkreis hinaus, eine Figur in der konsolidierenden Öffnung der Republik. Nach seiner Emeritierung bekleidete er in den USA als erster die Theodor-Heuss-Stiftungsprofessur an der New School for Social Research in New York, die für deren Verdienst um die deutschsprachigen Hochschulemigranten eingerichtet worden war. Dadurch ergaben sich fruchtbare Kontakte zur phänomenologischen und interpretativen Soziologie in der Nachfolge von Alfred Schütz (Peter L. Berger, Thomas Luckmann).

Mitte der 60er Jahre erreichte Plessner am Alterssitz in der Schweiz überraschend noch ein Lehrauftrag in Zürich, wo er mit einer die junge Generation erstaunenden Offenheit für Neues und doch in beständiger Kontinuität mit den Gedanken der 20er Jahre noch einmal mehrere Jahre Philosophie lehrte. Bis 1975 publizistisch aktiv, konnten Zeitgenossen Plessners bis ins hohe Alter bewegliche Neugier und seinen persönlichen und noetischen Charme erfahren. Am Ende von langer Krankheit gezeichnet, erlebte er noch die Veröffentlichung seiner Gesammelten Werke, bevor er 1985 in Göttingen starb.

Kommentare sind geschlossen.