2017 Award Recipient: Peter Sloterdijk

The Karlsruhe philosopher Peter Sloterdijk was the second recipient of the Helmuth Plessner Award in 2017.
After an intense discussion of three candidates proposed by the Helmuth Plessner Society, the awards committee decided by a majority on March 3, 2017, to bestow the honor on Peter Sloterdijk. The city of Wiesbaden’s press release explains this choice as follows: “Peter Sloterdijk is one of the most important contemporary German philosophers and cultural theorists. He studied philosophy, history, and German studies in Munich and at the University of Hamburg. His book Critique of Cynical Reason, first published in German by Suhrkamp in 1983, is one of the best-selling philosophical books of the twentieth century. In addition to his extensive publications, Peter Sloterdijk has in the past decades taught philosophy at numerous universities in Germany and abroad.”

Within philosophy and theory circles, Sloterdijk’s work is seen as an original contribution to “philosophical anthropology” and is debated throughout Europe. “Outside of Germany, Sloterdijk is seen as representing the legacy of philosophical anthropology because of his position against Heidegger’s anti-anthropology” (Marco Russo). This “anthropological elucidation” of the conditio humana can already be found in the first, foundational volume of his Spheres trilogy (Sloterdijk’s principal work to date, 1998-2004), which begins with the shared world as the constellation forming the human: the human as “dual being” in the prelinguistic, dialogical, I-thou-relationship between fetus and mother, in the “mother-child space.” In his subsequent essay Menschentreibhaus (“The Human Greenhouse,” 2001), Sloterdijk undertakes a systematic “anthropological elucidation” of the conditio humana—explicitly distancing himself from Darwinism on one side and culturalism on the other.

Sloterdijk elaborates a nexus of “anthropogenetic” mechanisms in the field of life in order to reconstruct the transition from primates to human beings phylo- and ontogenetically: the mechanism of “insulation” of primate groups with the creation of a specific shared world (a social climatic space); the mechanism of “shutting down the body” (Koerperausschaltung) with the development of throwing as a “distancing technology” from nature; the mechanism of “pedomorphosis” or “neoteny” with the prolongation and preservation of infantility in the human form; the mechanism of “transmission,” by means of which linguistic metaphors from the zone of familiarity gradually create “world openness.”
This theory is systematically and methodologically analogous to Plessner’s approach in his great essay Die Frage nach der conditio humana (“The question of the conditio humana,” 1960), in which he modified and reformulated The Levels from 1928 while preserving its essence. Plessner’s aim here is to clarify, in dialogue with biology and especially anthropology, the conditions of the possibility of the human in natural history, in the transition zone from animals: the mechanisms associated with the “human blueprint” of “imitation and reciprocity,” of the “reification” of their own bodies and the “repression” of their drives, of language as the “superelevation of the eye-hand-field,” of the boundary regulation of the “relation between world and environment.” Interesting here is the fact that Sloterdijk develops his constellation analysis of the conditio humana with reference to Paul Alsberg, Louis Bolk, Adolf Portmann, and Dieter Claessens—the same philosophical and anthroposociological network in which Plessner and Scheler were the main protagonists.

“Conferring the Helmuth Plessner Award on Peter Sloterdijk is a great honor for Wiesbaden,” says Rose-Lore Scholz, head of the city’s department of cultural affairs and chair of the awards committee. “With his articles and books Peter Sloterdijk has stimulated numerous debates in Germany and beyond and provided impetus for thought to broad segments of our society.”

The awards ceremony took place on September 4, 2017, Helmuth Plessner’s 125th birthday, in Wiesbaden’s city hall.

Wolfgang Eßbach’s speech in honor of Tomasello, September 4, 2017 (in German).
Acceptance speech of Peter Sloterdijk am 04.09.2017 (gekürzte Fassung im ›Tagesspiegel‹ vom 19.09.2017)

Comments are closed

Preisträger 2017: Peter Sloterdijk

Als zweiter Preisträger 2017 wurde Peter Sloterdijk, Karlsruher Philosoph und Schriftsteller, gekürt.

Das Kuratorium, dem eine von der Helmuth Plessner Gesellschaft beratende und vorgeschlagene Liste von drei Kandidat/-innen vorlag, hat sich nach intensiver Diskussion am 04.03.2017 mit Mehrheit für Peter Sloterdijk entschieden. Die Begründung in der Pressemitteilung der Stadt Wiesbaden lautet: Mit Peter Sloterdijk wird einer der bedeutendsten deutschen Gegenwartsphilosophen und Kulturwissenschaftler geehrt. Er studierte in München und an der Universität Hamburg Philosophie, Geschichte und Germanistik. Sein 1983 im Suhrkamp Verlag erschienenes Werk „Kritik der zynischen Vernunft“ zählt zu den meistverkauften philosophischen Büchern des 20. Jahrhunderts. Neben seinem umfangreichen schriftstellerischen Wirken war Peter Sloterdijk in den vergangenen Jahrzehnten an zahlreichen Hochschulen im In- und Ausland als Professor und Dozent für Philosophie tätig.

Sloterdijks Werk wird in der Theorieöffentlichkeit als originärer Beitrag zur „philosophischen Anthropologie“ verstanden und europaweit rezipiert. „Sloterdijk gilt außerhalb der deutschen Grenze als einer der Vertreter und Erbe der philosophischen Anthropologie, weil er gegen die Anti-Anthropologie Heideggers Stellung bezogen hat.“ (Marco Russo). Diese „anthropologische Aufklärung“ der ‚conditio humana‘ findet sich bereits im ersten, im grundlegenden Band der „Sphären-Trilogie“ (Sloterdijks bisheriges Hauptwerk 1998-2004), in der von vorherein von der Mitwelt als menschenbildender Konstellation ausgegangen wird: das menschliche Lebewesen als „duales Wesen“ in der vorsprachlich-dialogischen Ich-Du-Beziehung zwischen Fötus und Mutter, im Mutter-Kind-Raum. In der Fortführung hat Sloterdijk in der Abhandlung „Menschentreibhaus“ (2001) eine systematische „anthropologische Aufklärung“ der conditio humana unternommen – in expliziter Abgrenzung vom Darwinismus einerseits, vom Kulturalismus andererseits.

Er arbeitet ein Geflecht von vier Mechanismen der „Anthropogenese“ im Lebens-Feld heraus, um den Übergang der Primaten zum Menschen phylo- und ontogenetisch zu rekonstruieren: Den Mechanismus der „Insulation“ von Primatengruppen mit der Schaffung einer spezifischen Mitwelt (eines sozialen Binnenklimaraums); den Mechanismus der „Körperausschaltung“ mit der Entfaltung des Werfens als „Distanztechnik“ zur Natur; den Mechanismus der „Pädomorphose bzw. Neotonie“ mit der Verlängerung und Erhaltung der „Infantilität“ in der Menschengestalt; den Mechanismus der „Übertragung“, in der durch die sprachlichen Metaphern aus der Vertrautheitszone die „Weltoffenheit“ Schritt für Schritt erschlossen wird.

Theoriesystematisch und methodisch handelt sich um eine parallele Struktur zu Plessners Vorgehen in dessen großer Abhandlung „Die Frage nach der conditio humana“ (1960), in der er die „Stufen“ von 1928 modifizierte und reformulierte (dabei am Kern festhaltend). Plessner ging es hier darum, im Kontakt mit der biologischen und vor allem der anthropologischen Forschung die Bedingungen der Möglichkeit des Menschen in der Naturgeschichte, im Tier-Übergangsfeld aufzuklären: die mit dem „menschlichen Bauplan“ mitgegebenen Mechanismen der „Imitation und Reziprozität“, der „Verdinglichung“ des eigenen Körpers und der „Verdrängung“ seiner Triebimpulse, der Sprache als „Überhöhung des Auge-Hand-Feldes“, der Grenz-Regulierung des „Welt-Umweltverhältnisses“. Interessant ist, dass Sloterdijk seine Konstellationsanalyse der conditio humana unter Einbeziehung von Paul Alsberg, Louis Bolk, Adolf Portmann und Dieter Claessens entwickelt, also genau in dem philosophisch-anthroposoziologischen Netzwerk, innerhalb dessen Plessner und Scheler die Hauptprotagonisten sind.

„Peter Sloterdijk mit dem Helmuth Plessner-Preis auszuzeichnen, ist für die Landes-hauptstadt Wiesbaden eine große Ehre“, freut sich Kulturdezernentin Rose-Lore Scholz, die dem Kuratorium zur Vergabe des Preises vorstand. „Mit seinen Beiträgen und Büchern hat Peter Sloterdijk in Deutschland – und darüber hinaus – zahlreiche Debatten ausgelöst und Denk-Impulse in weite Teile unserer Gesellschaft gegeben“, betont sie.

Die Preisverleihung findet am 04.09.2017, dem 125. Geburtstag von Helmuth Plessner, im Wiesbadener Rathaus im Rahmen eines Festaktes statt.

Laudatio von Wolfgang Eßbach am 04.09.2017
Dankesrede von Peter Sloterdijk am 04.09.2017 (gekürzte Fassung im ›Tagesspiegel‹ vom 19.09.2017)

Kommentare sind geschlossen.